Skip to content

LinkedIn
YouTube
RSS

Christmas 2017- Extended trading hours

This year, the State Government has again approved extra trading hours in the lead-up to Christmas and for the post-Christmas sales period.

Non-exempt shops in the city and metropolitan area can open:

  • from 9am to 5pm on Sunday 3 December, Sunday 10 December, Sunday 17 December, Sunday 24 December and Sunday 31 December 2017
  • until 12-midnight on Thursday 14 December, Thursday 21 December and Friday 22 December 2017
  • until 6pm on Saturday 23 December 2017.

Although they are non-trading days for the wider metropolitan area, non-exempt shops in the city can trade from 11am to 5pm on:

  • Tuesday 26 December 2017
  • Monday 1 January 2018.

Shops selling hardware and building materials, furniture, floor coverings or motor vehicle parts and accessories can trade their usual weekday, weekend and public holiday hours (plus any extended hours provided by this year's exemption) but must be closed on Christmas Day. 

The table below provides a guide to trading hours for non-exempt shops in the city and wider metropolitan area during the 2017 Christmas/New Year public holiday period.

DAY CITY METRO
Saturday, 23 December until 6pm until 6pm
Sunday, 24 December 9am to 5pm 9am to 5pm
Monday, 25 December CLOSED CLOSED
Tuesday, 26 December 11am to 5pm CLOSED
Wednesday, 27 December until 9pm until 9pm
Thursday, 28 December until 9pm until 9pm
Friday, 29 December until 9pm until 9pm
Saturday, 30 December until 5pm until 5pm
Sunday, 31 December 9am to 5pm 9am to 5pm
Monday, 1 January 11am to 5pm CLOSED
 

Related Information

Public holidays