Workers who hold certain licences or registrations may be able to work across Australia using their current licence. Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR) aims to reduce red tape and decrease to cost of doing business for both workers and business owners. AMR will ease the burden on workers such as FIFO or those relocating to another state on a temporary basis.

If you hold a current licence you may be able to take up work opportunities across the country using your interstate licence or registration without needing to apply for a licence or registration in South Australia. For the purposes of AMR your home state is defined as your primary place of residence or work.

South Australia’s AMR scheme commenced on 20 December 2021.

To be eligible for AMR:

  • you must hold an accreditation from an Australian state or territory
  • your accreditation must not be suspended
  • you are not subject to disciplinary, civil or criminal action or under investigation
  • your work must be away from your home state (i.e. the principal place where you live or work).

SA licences and registrations covered by AMR

SafeWork SA licences covered under the automatic mutual recognition scheme are:

  • Accredited assessor for high risk work – Work Health and Safety Act 2012
  • Gas fitter – Dangerous Substances Act 1979
  • Pyrotechnician – Explosives Act 1936
  • Employment Agents – Employment Agents Registration Act 1993.

Under the scheme you will be able to conduct the activities in South Australia that are authorised under your current interstate licence or registration (except for Queensland licence holders). You must comply with all relevant South Australian laws when conducting activities in South Australia.

There may be variations in legislative provisions across jurisdictions, including different requirements that licence holders must be aware of and comply with.

Queensland Government has not introduced legislation to join the AMR Scheme. Queensland licence holders are unable to apply for automatic mutual recognition for the above licences.

South Australians looking to work interstate will be required to comply with the laws of that state or territory and may only work within the parameters permitted under your South Australian licence. Exemptions in other states or territories may impact on your ability to benefit from the AMR in the short term.

Requirement to notify intention to work

You are required to notify us of your intention to work under the AMR.

SafeWork SA will determine whether a worker is eligible for AMR through a mandated notification system. A licensee or registrant who submits a notification is not provided with a substantive South Australian licence or registration. Rather they will receive recognition of their interstate licence or registration.

Not all states and territories have joined and/or intend to join this scheme.

Notification form

You need to submit a notification form to have your interstate licence recognised in South Australia (applicable licences only).

Permanent relocation to South Australia

AMR does not cover licence or registration holders who are relocating to South Australia on a permanent basis. If you are relocating to South Australia you must apply for a new South Australian licence.

High Risk Work licence holders may request a conversion of an interstate licence.

Commencement date

The commencement date for Automatic Mutual Recognition is different in each state and territory. South Australia’s AMR scheme commenced on 20 December 2021. You will need to refer to communications from other states and territories for their participation details.

The provisions for the AMR can be found within the Mutual Recognition (South Australia) (Further Adoption) Amendment Act 2021 and the Mutual Recognition (South Australia) Act 1993. The Amendment Act adopts the Commonwealth’s Mutual Recognition Act amendments to implement the new Automatic Mutual Recognition scheme for occupational registrations/licences.